>>
You're Reading...
Lists

AFI Fucked Up: 20 Great Movie Quotes That Weren’t Considered

In 2005, American Film Institute released their list of the 100 Best Movie Quotes of All Time. Although any “Best of All Time” list will cause controversy, my criticism actually falls on the list of the 400 nominees. After reviewing the entire list, I was surprised at quotes that did not make the cut, and, to some extent, upset at the one’s that did. While comprising this ‘over-looked’ list, I used the same criteria that AFI did:

  • Movie Quotation: A statement, phrase or brief exchange of dialogue spoken in an American film. Lyrics from songs are not eligible.
  • Cultural Impact: Movie quotations that viewers use in their own lives and situations; circulating through popular culture, they become part of the national lexicon.
  • Legacy: Movie quotations that viewers use to evoke the memory of a treasured film, thus ensuring and enlivening its historical legacy.
  • Year: A film made before 2005

Along with the Institute’s criteria, I also added that the film must also be of critical notoriety, and attempted to be objective as possible. Even though I love the quote from Natural Born Killers: “Mass murder is wrong. But if I were a mass murderer, I’d be Mickey and Mallory!”, I would assume that most critics would not view this quote as historic.

So, I present to you, in no particular order, 20 quotes that I felt were snubbed by the Institute.

What’s your favorite quote that didn’t make the list?

By Guy Stridsigne  5/31/2011

“When someone asks you if you’re a god, you say, ‘YES’!” – Ghostbusters

"And I guess that was your accomplice in the wood chipper." - Fargo

"I come from a long line of stubborn idiots." - It Happened One Night

"You have a point. An idiotic one, but a point." - All About Eve

"Drink your juice, Shelby." - Steel Magnolias

"Boycott that goddamn barber who fucked up your head." - Do The Right Thing

"Clever girl." - Jurassic Park

"See daddy, sinners have soul too."- The Color Purple

"Now I know I have a heart because it’s breaking." - The Wizard of Oz

"Inconceivable!" - The Princess Bride

"Oh Stewardess! I speak jive." - Airplane!

"Baby wants to fuck blue velvet!" - Blue Velvet

"Love is too weak a word for how I feel. I lufff you." - Annie Hall

"My whole life is a darkroom, one big dark room." - Beetlejuice

"The Dude abides." - The Big Lebowski

"Because I am not one of your fans!" - Mommie Dearest

"You killed Misery!" - Misery

"F - it -flam - flames. Flames, on the side of my face, breathing-breathl- heaving breaths. Heaving breaths... Heaving." - Clue

"Don't look now, but there's one man too many in this room, and I think it's you." - Duck Soup

"Then take the check, for $5,000, which I feel you deserve, and get - permanently - lost. It's not that I don't want to know you, Hilary - although I don't - it's just that I'm afraid we're not really the sort of people that you can afford to be associated with." - Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner

Discussion

7 thoughts on “AFI Fucked Up: 20 Great Movie Quotes That Weren’t Considered

  1. I think there’s a difference betwwen “not making the list” and being “snubbed.” In any case, just as when people go on about an actor, actress, director or film being “snubbed” by the Oscars you’ve only told half the story. What 20 quotes should go to make room for your choices?
    Nice picks, though. The All About Eve quote is a great favorite of mine, although it loses something without the full context.

    Posted by Bruce McClelland | May 31, 2011, 4:45 pm
  2. I love the full conversation from All About Eve! I would have loved to place the whole discussion about the Waiter and the Butler, but I went with the key phrase. 🙂

    Posted by Guy Stridsigne | May 31, 2011, 11:10 pm
  3. Good suggestion there Bruce.. so:

    I went through and took one’s that I felt weren’t too memorable.. many from the films that I selected quotes from already! Some are memorable, but just don’t feel .. worthy.

    And our bodies are earth. And our thoughts
    are clay. And we sleep and eat with death.
    ALL QUIET ON THE WESTERN FRONT
    Universal, 1930

    ANNIE HALL
    La-dee-da, la-dee-da.
    ANNIE HALL
    United Artists, 1977

    Georgia, love is for the very young.
    THE BAD AND THE BEAUTIFUL
    MGM, 1952

    BETELGEUSE
    I’m the ghost with the most, babe.
    BEETLEJUICE
    Warner Bros., 1988

    BILL/TED
    Excellent!
    BILL AND TED’S EXCELLENT ADVENTURE
    Orion, 1989

    RICK BLAINE
    Ilsa, I’m no good at being noble, but it
    doesn’t take much to see that the problems
    of three little people don’t amount to a
    hill of beans in this crazy world.
    CASABLANCA
    Warner Bros., 1942 (there were SEVEN Casablanca quotes, this one the least memorable)

    DA MAYOR
    Always do the right thing.
    MOOKIE
    That’s it?
    DA MAYOR
    That’s it.
    MOOKIE
    I got it, I’m gone.
    DO THE RIGHT THING

    MARGE GUNDERSON
    You betcha!
    FARGO
    Gramercy, 1996 (maybe, because I live in Minnesota)

    REGGIE HAMMOND
    I’m your worst fucking nightmare, man!
    A nigger with a badge.
    48 HOURS

    CRAIG/SMOKEY
    Damn!
    FRIDAY
    New Line Cinema, 1995

    MOHANDAS GANDHI
    If you are a minority of one, the truth is
    the truth.
    GANDHI
    Columbia, 1982 (I choose this one, because it is by FAR not the most memorable quote of the film)

    MR. MAGUIRE
    Plastics.
    THE GRADUATE
    Embassy Pictures, 1967 (this actually made 42nd best quote, ABOVE “Mrs. Robinson, you are trying to seduce me. Aren’t you?” at 63)

    GRUSINSKAYA
    I want to be alone.
    GRAND HOTEL
    MGM, 1932

    ELLIE ANDREWS
    Well, I proved once and for all that the
    limb is mightier than the thumb.
    IT HAPPENED ONE NIGHT
    Columbia, 1934

    DR. IAN MALCOLM
    Life will find a way.
    JURASSIC PARK
    Universal, 1993

    AGENT J
    You know the difference between you and me?
    I make this look good.
    MEN IN BLACK
    Columbia, 1997

    CHILDREN
    One, two, Freddy’s coming for you…
    A NIGHTMARE ON ELM STREET
    New Line, 1984 (I love NoES, but this quote seems to violate AFI’s OWN criteria, they are the lyrics of a song)

    GHOSTFACE
    Do you like scary movies?
    SCREAM
    Dimension, 1996

    TRENT
    Vegas, baby.
    SWINGERS
    Miramax, 1996

    THE WICKED WITCH OF THE WEST
    I’m melting! Melting! Oh, what a world!
    What a world!
    THE WIZARD OF OZ
    MGM, 1939 (understandable, but the quote I would have replaced it with is better)

    Posted by Guy Stridsigne | June 1, 2011, 2:26 am
  4. And for those who want a list of the nominees:

    http://www.afi.com/Docs/100Years/quotes400.pdf

    Posted by Guy Stridsigne | June 1, 2011, 2:27 am
  5. Of course, officially, Video Word Made Flesh must insist that, “See you in Pittsburgh,” should have made the list.

    — Britta

    Posted by VideoWordMadeFlesh | June 1, 2011, 1:33 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Love Is In The Air: 10 Romantic Movies for Valentine’s Day « Video Word Made Flesh - July 13, 2011

  2. Pingback: Five Offbeat Films for Mother’s Day « Video Word Made Flesh - July 13, 2011

Leave a Reply

